Modi to perform Bhumi pujan to lay foundation stone for new Parliament

Vastavam web: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday will lay the foundation stone of the new Parliament building, in which Lok Sabha will be three times of its existing size and Rajya Sabha will be substantially bigger. The ceremony will begin at 12:55 pm followed by which Bhoomi Poojan and foundation stone laying ceremony will take place at 1 pm. ‘Sarva Dharma Prarthana’ (inter-faith prayer) will be held at 1:30 pm.

According to a release by the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO), the new building is an intrinsic part of the vision of ‘Aatmanirbhar Bharat’ and will be a landmark opportunity to build peoples’ Parliament for the first time after independence, one which will match the needs and aspirations of ‘New India’ in the 75th anniversary of independence in 2022. “The new Parliament building will be modern, state-of-the-art and energy-efficient, with highly non-obtrusive security facilities to be built as a triangular-shaped building, adjacent to the present Parliament. Lok Sabha will be three times of the existing size and Rajya Sabha will be substantially bigger,” the release said.

As per the PMO, the design plan includes space for a magnificent Central Constitutional Gallery, which will be accessible to the public. It said construction process will use resource-efficient green technology, promote environment- friendly practices, generate employment opportunities and contribute towards economic revitalization. It will comply with the highest structural safety standards, including adherence to Seismic Zone 5 requirements and is designed for ease of maintenance and operations, PMO said.

The new Parliament building will have a seating capacity for 888 members in the Lok Sabha and 384 members in Rajya Sabha as against the present 543 members and 245 members respectively. The capacity of the Lok Sabha chamber is expected to be 1,224 seats for joint sittings. The foundation laying ceremony will be attended by Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi, Minister of State (Independent Charge), Housing & Urban Affairs Hardeep S. Puri, and Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Harivansh Narayan Singh among others.