Andhra Pradesh Ministers to be sworn in on June 8

Vastavam web: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy will induct his council of ministers on Saturday, more than a week after he was sworn in alone. The swearing-in ceremony of the new ministers would take place at 11.49 am on Saturday at the Secretariat here, an official announcement said here Thursday.

The state can have a 25-member Cabinet but the sheer volume of the YSRCs victory (151 out of 175 seats) has thrown up a lot of aspirants for the ministerial berths. Also, many seniors who worked with Jagan Reddy’s late father Y S Rajasekhara Reddy have made a comeback this time, making his task of choosing the ministers tougher. The YSRC chief had publicly promised Cabinet berths to a few leaders during the course of his ‘paadayatra’ as well as the election campaign.

Veterans like Anam Ramanarayana Reddy, Botsa Satyanarayana, Dharmana Prasada Rao and Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose who were ministers in the YSR Cabinet are also leading the race of aspirants now. Legislative Council members such as Ummareddy Venkateswarlu are also eyeing Cabinet posts as the party came to power for the first time.