Owaisi wins from Hyderabad LS seat for 4th time

Vastavam web: The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) chief Asaduddin Owaisi won the Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat for the fourth consecutive term. Owaisi, who had been winning the seat since 2004, defeated J Bhagavanth Rao of the BJP by over 2.82 lakh votes.

In 2014, Owaisi had secured 5,13,868 votes emerging victorious against the same opponent by 2,02,454 votes. Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat has been traditionally a stronghold of the AIMIM, which has maintained a firm grip on the minority voters-dominated constituency since 1984.