Polling underway for 10 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana

Vastavam web: Polling began Sunday morning in ten constituencies of Haryana in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections, which will seal the fate of 223 candidates, including Union ministers Rao Inderjit Singh and Krishan Pal Gurjar. Polling began at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm in the 10 parliamentary constituencies, officials said.

Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar was among the early voters in Karnal. Haryana’s Joint Chief Electoral Officer Inder Jeet said over 1.80 crore people are eligible to vote in the state. Of them, 97,16,516 are male, 83,40,173 female and 207 transgenders.

Over one lakh of the total voters are physically challenged and special facilities have been provided for them, he said. Altogether, 223 candidates, just 11 of them women, are in the fray. Prominent among them are Union ministers of state Rao Inderjit Singh from Gurgaon and Krishan Pal Gurjar from Faridabad. Both of them are seeking re-election.