By-elections to 18 Assembly seats in Tamil Nadu Will Held on April 18

Vastavam web: By-elections to 18 Assembly seats in Tamil Nadu would be held on April 18 along with the Lok Sabha polls, Chief Electoral Officer, Satyabrata Sahoo said Sunday. Briefing reporters here, the top State election official said bypolls were not scheduled for Tiruparankundram, Ottapidaram, Aravakurichi constituencies, which are also vacant, in view of Election Petitions pending in the Madras High Court.

Bypolls would be held in the 18 constituencies of Poonamallee, Perambur, Tiruporur, Sholinghur, Gudiyatham, Ambur, Hosur, Pappireddipapatti, Harur, Nilakkottai, Tiruvarur, Thanjavur, Manamadurai, Andipatti, Periyakulam, Sattur, Paramakudi and Vilathikulam, Sahoo said. On March 19, the filing of nominations would begin and the last day for nominations would be March 26. The scrutiny of nomination would be on March 27 and March 29 shall be the last date for withdrawal of candidatures.

The results for both Lok Sabha and Assembly by-polls would be announced on May 23. Of the 18 seats, sixteen had fallen vacant following the disqualification of ruling AIADMK MLAs loyal to TTV Dhinakaran. The by-poll to Tiruvarur seat has been necessitated by the death of sitting member and late DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi while the Hosur seat fell vacant following the disqualification of Minister K Balakrishna Reddy after his conviction by a court in over a decades-old criminal case.

The by-polls are considered crucial as it would have a bearing on the stability of the AIADMK government which needs to win a sizeable number of them to retain its majority in the 234-member House.