Jagan Kumar clinched seventh Motorcycle Racing Championship title

Vastavam web: Jagan Kumar of TVS Racing braved wrist pain to finish sixth in the concluding race and clinch the title for the seventh time in Super Sport 165 cc class in the MRF MMSC FMSCI National Motorcycle Racing Championship at Sriperumbudur near here on Sunday. Rajiv Sethu led a podium sweep for Honda Ten10 Racing in the final round.

Jagan, who crashed heavily in the first race yesterday after making contact with team-mate Ahamed Arif, was unable to generate his usual pace and was content to pick up the eight points he required to seal the championship with 158 points. Sethu won comfortably ahead of team-mates Sarath Kumar and Mathana Kumar to finish second in the championship behind Jagan with 145 points.

In one of the closest finishes of the season, Bengaluru-based Anish Damodara Shetty (Honda Ten10 Racing) pipped TVS Racing’s Kannan Subramaniam by three-thousandth of a second in the Pro-Stock 165cc race as the duo crossed the line locked together. Shetty had already sealed the championship in this category and ended his season on a successful note.