Karunanidhi records in Indian political history

Vastavam web: DMK Patriarch M Karunanidhi never lost an election. He won 13 times since 1957. Karunanidhi was 48-Years-Old when he became CM of Tamil Nadu for the first time. There after he went on to be Tamil Nadu CM for four more times. He was the one who complained to then PM Indira Gandhi that everyone except CM got the chance to unfurl the tri-colour.

After failing to pass Class X, Karunanidhi moved to Coimbatore to focus on scriptwriting. He joined DMK when Annadurai floated it in 1949 and shot to fame when he led the ‘Kallakudi Agitation’ in 1953 by lying over railway tracks. Known for his fiery protests and captivating oratory, the 92-year-old leader stepped into the Assembly in April, 1957, after being elected from Kulithalai segment in Tiruchy district. He represented Thanjavur in 1962 and Saidapet in Chennai on 1967 and 1971 before switching over to Anna Nagar, where he successfully contested in 1977 and 1980.

In 1989, Karunanidhi was elected to the Assembly from Harbour and became the Chief Minister several years after losing power to his friend-turned-foe M G Ramachandran. He faced the polls in the same constituency in 1991 as well. Chepauk had sent him to the Assembly thrice, in 1996, 2001 and 2006 and in the subsequent election, the DMK patriarch switched to his native town Thiruvarur. In 2016, he set the record of winning by biggest margin from the same constituency, according to MK Stalin, working president of the DMK.