Shekhar Kapur appointed as chairman of 65th National Film Awards

Vastavam web: Veteran director Shekhar Kapur has been appointed chairman of the central panel of the 65th National Film Awards, sources in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting said today.Film writer Imtiaz Hussain, known for his works in films like “Astitva” (2000) and “Parinda” (1989) will be the regional chairperson of South I panel. Mehboob, who penned the lyrics for the Hindi (dubbed) version of 1995 Tamil romantic drama “Bombay”, was appointed as the regional chairperson of South II panel, the sources said.

Actress Gautami Tadimalla, who is known for her work in Tamil films, is the regional chairman of the North panel, while director Rahul Rawail known for films like “Love Story” (1981), “Betaab” (1983), “Arjun” (1985) and “Jo Bole So Nihaal” (2005), was chosen as the regional chairperson of the Western panel, they said.