KL Rahul is ‘Cricketer of the Year’ in 6th edition of Wisden India Almanack

Vastavam web: KL Rahul is the ‘Cricketer of the Year’ in the sixth edition of Wisden India Almanack, which has just been released.The Almanack pays a tribute to India’s women cricketers, with a wonderful cover picture of celebration at the World Cup.Kohli is already the statistician’s delight; if he does well abroad, he will become history’s darling too, says Suresh Menon in his editor’s notes.

Not surprisingly, therefore, Deepti Sharma, a star at the World Cup is one of the ‘Cricketers of the Year’ while Shantha Rangaswamy, India’s first woman superstar, has been inducted into the Wisden India Hall of Fame alongside Erapalli Prasanna.Priyank Panchal, Hasan Ali and Tamim Iqbal are the other Cricketers of the Year.Essays by Ian Chappell, Shehan Karunatilaka, Simon Barnes, Sharda Ugra, Samanth Subramanian, Bhagwat Chandrasekhar, Partha Chatterjee maintain the high standards set by previous editions.