Four race walkers to represent India in 21st Commonwealth Games

Vastavam web: A four member team will represent India in the 20km race walking event at the 21st Commonwealth Games to be held in Gold Coast, Australia from April 4 to 15.The selection committee of Athletics Federation of India (AFI) handpicked two men and two women for the event.Irfan won the National Championships title with the timing of 1:21:31.25s while Manish finished second clocking 1:21.31.72s.In 20km women s category, India will be represented by Soumya B, who won the women s 20km event gold on Sunday with a new national record timing of 21:31.28s and silver medalist Khushbir Kaur (1:32.16s).

Meanwhile, the official Indian entry for Asian 20km Race Walking Championships to be held in Nomi, Japan on March 18-19 will be Neeraj Rathi (men, 1:21.39s) and Karamjit Kaur (women, 1:34.08s).Based on the performance in Nomi, the Indian team of two athletes each in 20km men and women will be selected for the IAAF World Race Walking Championships in China.The selection committee also announced that there will be no selection trials for the Asian Games 2018 to be held in Jakarta, Indonesia from August 22 to 29.The performance of walkers in Asian 20 KM Race Walk Championships, IAAF Race Walk Championships and Commonwealth Games will be assessed and considered for selecting the Indian team for the Asian Games.