RK nagar bypoll on december 21

Vastavam web: A day after the election commission (ec) allotted the symbol of “two leaves” to the ruling group headed by chief minister edappadi k. palaniswami and deputy chief minister o. panneerselvam, the ec on friday announced that the much-awaited by-election to the dr. radhakrishnan nagar assembly constituency in tamil nadu would be held on december 21.

the counting of votes and results would be announced on december 24.

four more assembly constituencies in three states – uttar pradesh (sikandra constituency), arunachal pradesh (pakke-kasang and likbali) and west bengal (sabang) would also be held on the same day. the two constituencies in the northeastern state are reserved for scheduled tribes, according to the commission’s press release.

the schedule drawn up by the ec stated that filing of nominations could begin on monday, the day in which a notification would be issued on the gazettes of the respective state governments. nominations could be filed till december 4, and their scrutiny would take place the next day. the last date for withdrawal of nominations would be up to december 7.