Indian cyclists grabbed five gold on opening day of Track Asia Cup

New Delhi: Gold medallists India's Deborah and K Vargheese pose at the award ceremony of the Team Sprint Women's Elite event at the Track Asia Cup 2016 in New Delhi on Wednesday. PTI Photo by Kamal Kishore (PTI9_14_2016_000259B)
Vastavam web:  Indian cyclists grabbed nine medals, including five gold, to open their campaign on a rousing note in the Track Asia Cup at the IG Stadium Complex Velodrome here today.Eight final events were held on the opening day today and India won gold in five of them. They also won four silver medals.She failed to convert the colour of medal this year again in women’s 500m elite event and managed a silver with 36.083 seconds, behind China’s Yufang Guo who completed the race in 35.071 seconds.
Deborah’s average speed was 49.885 km/hr which was not enough to win the gold. Indonesia’s Crismonita Dwi Putri got the bronze in the event.Ashwin Patil opened India’s campaign by winning a gold in the 15km Point Race event in the junior men’s category with 29 points. Ashwin secured five points each in the first four sprints and made an easy win.Team-mate Naman Kapil won the silver with 29 points while Hassan of Saudi Arabia secured a bronze with 21 points.
Sushikala Agashe showed her supremacy in 500m Time Trial event by winning a gold in 37.702s followed by Evanglina Liontin of Indonesia who clocked 41.545s. UAE won the bronze of this event. Sushikala’s average speed was 47.743km/hr.A national record was also set by men’s elite team of Sahil Kumar, Ranjit Singh and Apollonius when they clocked 47.399s (better than Asian Games gold medal time) in Team Sprint event and won the gold. Saudi Arabia was far behind satisfy with the silver (49.248s).Another silver came in men’s junior Team Pursuit (4km) event (4:38.632s). Saudi Arabia won gold in this event (4:38.220s) while SAINCA bagged the bronze.