Government whip seeking disqualification of the 19 Dhinakaran MLAs

Chennai: AIADMK senior leader and highways minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, he was elected as legislature party leader arrives to meet media persons along with party seniors at the resort in Koovathur in East Coast Road outskirts of Chennai on Tuesday. AIADMK General Secretary VK Sasikala is staying there. The two-judge bench comprising Justices P C Ghose and Amitava Roy directed Sasikala and the two relatives to surrender immediately to the trial court in Bengaluru and serve the remaining part of four-year jail term. PTI Photo by R Senthil Kumar(PTI2_14_2017_000212B)

Vastavam web: The ongoing tussle for power in the ruling AIADMK today saw the government whip seeking disqualification of the 19 MLAs supporting sidelined deputy general secretary TTV Dhinakaran from the Tamil Nadu Assembly following their revolt against Chief Minister K Palaniswami.Chief government whip S Rajendran took up with the Assembly Speaker the issue of disqualification of all 19 legislators who met state Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao two days ago.On February 14, a unanimous decision had been taken to elect Palaniswami as AIADMK Legislature Party Leader and there was no change in it, Rajendran said, reading out a from a statement at a hurriedly convened press meet.

“Further, they have also addressed the media. This is anti-party (activity). Since such an act implies voluntary relinquishing of membership, they are liable to be disqualified under Tenth Schedule of the Constitution,” he said.Their meeting with the Governor was also “unilateral” as the MLAs had not kept him informed, Rajendran told reporters.The Dhinakaran camp had revolted a day after the factions led by Palaniswami and O Panneerselvam merged.