Sourav Ganguly was named in a seven-member committee on Lodha reforms

Vastavam web:  Former India captain Sourav Ganguly was today named in a seven-member committee, headed by senior BCCI official Rajeev Shukla, to analyse the few contentious Lodha panel reforms which are being opposed by the Board’s state units.The other members of the panel are TC Mathew (former Kerala Cricket Association president), Naba Bhattacharjee (Meghalaya Cricket Association Secretary), Jay Shah (Gujarat Cricket Association secretary and son of BJP president Amit Shah), BCCI treasurer Anirudh Chaudhary and acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary, who will be the convener of the committee.

“In view of the fact that the next date of hearing (in the Supreme Court) in the matter is fixed for July 14, 2017, the committee is requested to fix an early date for its meeting in order to ensure that the above task is undertaken with utmost urgency and its written report circulated by July 10, 2017 so that the same may be considered by the General Body and finalized prior to the above hearing,” said Amitabh Choudhary in a statement.The four contentious Lodha panel recommendations which are delaying the implementation process are one-state one vote, age cap of 70 for office-bearers, cooling-off period for office-bearers and the size of the national selection panel. Some of the members in the Special Committee are already performing multiple roles in cricket administration.