Indian Diplomat Elected To UN Advisory Committee

Vastavam web: Indian diplomat Vidisha Maitra has been elected to the UN’s Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions (ACABQ). The election was a tightly contested one but Maitra won with 126 UN members supporting her candidature for the only post for the Asia-Pacific group while 64 voted for the opposing candidate who was from Iraq.India’s permanent representative to the UN, TS Tirumurthy confirmed Maitra’s election to the post in a video clip posted on Twitter.

India has been a member of the committee since its inception in 1946.The committee is one of the most coveted in the United Nations system as it controls the financial and budgetary purse of the UN. India’s win in this committee comes as India also prepares to take a seat as one of 10 non permanent members in the UN Security Council for a two year period starting 1 January 2021. The ACABQ is a crucial component in ensuring that resources of the Member states are used to good effect and that mandates are properly funded.

Members are elected by the General Assembly, consisting of 193 member states, on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and serve for a period of three calendar years. Members serve in a personal capacity and not as representatives of Member States.