Indian-origin leaders Who re-elected to US House of Representatives

Vastavam web: Four Democratic Indian-American lawmakers were re-elected to the House of Representatives on November 3. They are Congressman Ami Bera (California), Ro Khanna (California), Raja Krishnamoorthi (Illinois), and Pramila Jayapal (Washington). The ‘Samosa Caucus’ comprises the four above and Senator and Democratic vice-presidential nominee Kamala Harris. Dr Ami Bera has been re-elected to California’s 7th Congressional district which he has held since 2013. Representative Bera is currently a member of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, where he serves as Chairman of the Subcommittee on Asia, the Pacific, and Nonproliferation.

Congressman Ro Khanna represents California’s 17th Congressional District, located in the heart of Silicon Valley. This would be his third term. He sits on the House Budget, Armed Services, and Oversight and Reform committees and is the first vice-chair of the Congressional Progressive Caucus. Seeking re-election for the third time, Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi won the 8th District of Illinois, which includes the west and northwest suburbs of Chicago. Raja serves on the Oversight Committee, for which he is also the Chairman of the Subcommittee on Economic and Consumer Policy, as well as on the House Intelligence Committee.

Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal has also won a third term in Congress representing Washington’s 7th District, which encompasses most of Seattle and its surrounding areas. Jayapal is the first South Asian American woman elected to the US House of Representatives. She is a member of the House Judiciary Committee, where she serves as vice-chair of the Immigration Subcommittee, and on the House Education & Labor and Budget Committees. The other in this list are Jenifer Rajkumar, Nima Kulkarni, Kesha Ram, Vandana Slatter, Padma Kuppa, Niraj Antani, Jay Chaudhuri, Amish Shah, Nikil Saval, Ranjeev Puri, Jeremy Cooney, Ash Kalra, Ravi Sandill.