Mohit Kumar smashes decathlon record

Vastavam web: Haryana athlete Mohit Kumar set the stage alight by scripting a new youth national record in the men’s decathlon on the second day of the 15th National Youth Athletics Championships here yesterday.Mohit tallied 6707 points at the end of the ten events to erase the old mark of 6618 points set by A Sangwan last year. Mohit was challenged all the way by Andhra Pradesh athlete Sourabh Rathi who also went past the old national record before falling just two points short of Mohit with a total of 6705 points. Before the race, Mohit had trailed Rathi, having secured with 5954 points after nine events compared to 5959 by his opponent.

At the 1500m though, Mohit would clock 4:28.75 seconds to earn 753 points while Rathi clocked 4:29.81 seconds to earn 746 points.Over the course of nine events, Mohit clocked 11.85 seconds in the 100m, 6.48m in the long jump, 12.24m in the shot put, 1.86m in the high jump, 52.57seconds in the 400m dash, 15.25 seconds in the 100m hurdles, 37.94m in the discus throw, 4m in the pole vault event, 48.90m in the javelin throw and 4.28.75 seconds in the 1500m.In other events, Rahul Sharma of Uttar Pradesh and Josna Simov of Karnataka earned the title of the fastest man and woman of the competition.

Sharma clocked 10.80 seconds to claim the gold medal in the final of the men’s 100m. He beat Karan Hegiste of Maharashtra who clocked 10.908 seconds to take silver with S Nehal of Delhi clinching the bronze medal with a time of 10.910 seconds.Girls 800m final was a photo finish race where Pooja of Haryana grabbed the gold with the timing of 2:10.88, while Radha Chaudhary of Delhi settled for silver clocking 2:10.94 and Tannu Lathar (2:12.90), also from Delhi, bagged bronze.She took the top step of the podium followed by Giridharani of Tamil Nadu who claimed silver with a time of 12.33 seconds while Kirti Bhoite of Maharashtra took the bronze medal with a time of 12.46 seconds.

National record holder Aparna Roy had a less than stellar day on the track but still did enough to claim the women’s 100m hurdles title. Roy, who holds the national mark of 13.98 seconds, clocked 14.08 seconds today to finish just ahead of P Thabitha of Tamil Nadu who clocked 14.10 seconds. Pratibha Kumari of Jharkhand claimed the final step on the podium with a time of 14.57 seconds.