Maharashtra government rewards for Commonwealth Games medallists from state

New Delhi: Tejaswini Sawant, Jitu Rai, Heena Sidhu and ohter Commonwealth Games medal winning shooters at a press conference in New Delhi on Tuesday. PTI Photo by Vijay Verma (PTI4_17_2018_000050A)

Vastavam web: The Maharashtra government has approved hefty rewards for seven athletes from the state who won medals at the Commonwealth Games held in Australia in April this year.A government resolution said that Tejaswini Sawant, Heena Sidhu (both shooting), Rahul Aware (wrestling), Madhurika Patkar, Pooja Sahasrabudhe, Sanil Shetty (all three table tennis) and Chirag Shetty (badminton) will get Rs 50 lakh each.Besides, Tejaswini, Sidhu and Chirag Shetty, who also bagged silver medals, will get another Rs 30 lakh each, the GR said.

Tejaswini won the Gold in 50 Meters Rifle 3P event and a silver in 50 Meter Rifle Prone event.Sidhu too bagged the Gold in 25 Meter Pistol Shooting while she earned a silver in 10 Meter Air Pistol.