Sumitra Mahajan accepted resignations of YSRCP MPs

Vastavam web: Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Thursday accepted the resignations of five Lok Sabha MPs of the YSRCP.The MPs had submitted their resignations on April 6 the last day of budget session to protest against the refusal of the Central government to accord Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh.The speaker’s move came two weeks after YSR Congress Parliamentary Party leader Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy and others met her to convey that they stand by their resignations and urged her to accept the same immediately.

The other MPs are YV Subba Reddy, Vara Prasadarao Velagapalli, Midhun Reddy and YS Avinash Reddy.As the Speaker on May 29 had requested the MPs to reconsider their resignations, they met her in the national capital on June 6 to submit fresh letters, urging her to accept their resignations.